LA Getty Center

I am not a big fan of museums. I easily get bored.  There are some museums that you can’t even get pictures.  So, what are you there for if you don’t have any remembrance photos there? (It’s all my personal reaction)

When a friend invited me to go to Getty Center, who am I to refuse an offer.  Since I have nothing to do that day. Why not give a shot! While you can see some famous artworks of famous painters, sculptures, architects, etc of all times.

J. Paul Getty Museum is commonly refer to as the Getty is an art museum in California. A hilltop museum and accessible by tram. One of the largest arts organizations.  European and American art from medieval time to the presents are on the exhibit.

The North Pavilion presents paintings dated up to 1600.  Sculpture and decorative arts are also there.

The East Pavilion features primarily the 17th century Baroque art from Dutch, French, Flemish and Spanish paintings.  Some decorative arts and sculpture in 1600 to 1800 can be found here.

The South Pavilion have 18th century paintings and some art collections.  Here you can find rooms complete with elaborately furnished panel dated up to 1800.

West Pavilion have paintings, sculptures and some Italian arts dated 1700s to 19th century.

lagaw2 1891

lagaw2 1958
Van Gogh’s Irises

The building here  atop of the stairs is the Entrance Hall.  The sculpture on the steps is called Air.

IMG_2339

 

 

Even you are not a “museum person” like me.  I’m sure you will still enjoy strolling the grounds or enjoy a picnic in the garden.

Leave a comment